Hindu Vivek Kendra
«« Back

Riding the Modi wave, ABVP storms back to power in DU

Author: Express News Service
Publication: The Indian Express
Date: September 15 2013
URL: http://www.indianexpress.com/news/riding-the-modi-wave-abvp-storms-back-to-power-in-du/1169315/0

Riding high on the Narendra Modi wave, the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) stormed back to power in Delhi University after a gap of two years, winning three of the four seats in the students' union. The results of the DUSU polls were announced on Saturday — a day after Modi was declared BJP's PM candidate.

ABVP won the posts of president, vice-president and joint secretary while Congress-affiliated National Students' Union of India (NSUI) won the post of the secretary. ABVP's Aman Awana became president by a margin of around 1,500 votes. ABVP's Utkarsh Choudhary and Raju Rawat were elected vice-president and joint secretary, respectively, while NSUI's Karishma Thakur bagged the secretary post.

As soon as news of ABVP's victory came out, shouts of "Modi! Modi!" and slogans like "Desh ka PM kaisa ho, Narendra Modi jaisa ho" reverberated at the Police Lines area in Kingsway Camp — the counting venue. The ABVP took out a victory procession from the counting centre to the Arts Faculty, with supporters cheering and dancing to drum beats.

The Modi stamp had been all over the ABVP campaigning — with posters on social media carrying large pictures of the Gujarat chief minister. "Modi is a very able leader and he is extremely popular among the youth. I will definitely vote for him," Aman Awana said.

With Delhi Assembly polls round the corner and the Lok Sabha elections slated for next year, top BJP leaders were quick to acknowledge the victory of ABVP. While Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha chief Gaurav Khari joined in celebrations in North Campus on Saturday, Delhi BJP chief Vijay Goel also turned up at the ABVP office to congratulate the students.

ABVP swept the DUSU polls after a gap of two years. In 2012, NSUI had won the top three posts in DUSU, while the post of joint-secretary was tied between ABVP and NSUI.

In 2010, the top three posts were bagged by ABVP, while NSUI won the joint-secretary post.


«« Back
  Search Articles
  Special Annoucements